Sunday, January 24, 2010


I recently obtained a wholesale order from Kimberton Whole Foods in Kimberton, PA for several pieces of my chakra jewelry. Since many people are unaware or don't understand the concept of chakra, I thought I would do an introduction for my blog community:

Many of us often experience feelings of unease, yet we can’t quite put our finger on the source. Despite confusion, some seek to dispel the anxiety with food, drugs, alcohol, sex, shopping, etc.; others simply cast a blind eye toward the situation. However, this is like putting duct tape around a leaky pipe: applying a temporary fix to a potentially growing problem.

When the realization hits that deeper intervention is necessary, many people look to prescription medication or psycho-therapy. Others seek answers in religion, while some choose to concentrate on healing body chakras.

Life is energy, and the chakras are about energy. The energy that pervades the universe circulates through us and helps us experience life. Chakras are centers within the body that store and transmit universal energy.

The chakras have been described as whorls of light that are situated along and in-front of the spine. Picture the lights on an Internet modem. When all the lights are shining steadily, your Internet connection is fast and strong. However, the outage of just 1 light indicates a problem and you can’t connect to the Internet. Chakras operate similarly, although obstruction of 1 chakra doesn’t usually bring one’s functionality to a screeching halt as it would on a modem. The chakras are much more complicated in that blockages could cause us to feel emotionally disconnected or imbalanced, specifically in the area controlled by the “stuck” chakra.

Practitioners of eastern religions assert that true happiness can be achieved when all chakras are open, allowing energy to flow in and out. Everyone has 7 major body chakras:

* First Chakra: Base or Root Chakra
* Second Chakra: Svadisthana or The Sacral Chakra
* Third Chakra: Manipura or Solar Plexus
* Fourth Chakra: Anahata or Heart
* Fifth Chakra: Vishuddha or Throat.
* Sixth Chakra: Ajna or Brow Chakra
* Seventh Chakra: Sahasrara or Crown Chakra

The purpose of chakra balancing is to dissolve blockages before they become physical (although it can also be helpful with physical conditions. Crystals, being symmetrical in their molecular structure, radiate energy in a consistent and steady manner. When they're used in chakra balancing they can help to reestablish a healing, creative flow.

One of the nicest aspects of crystals is that they are color-coordinated with the energy centers called the chakras. Each chakra has a color, and usually stones of corresponding colors are placed there.

First: Black, brown, red
Second: Red, orange
Third: Yellow
Solar Plexus: Coral, yellow-green
Fourth: Pink, green
Fifth: Blue
Sixth: Dark blue, purple
Seventh: White

So, the jewelry I created takes crystals and gemstones to help remove blockages and assist the body in fighting of illness and maintain proper system function.

Here are a few of my favorite pieces that I came up with. Each piece has affirmations attached with them. Some of the pieces have affirmations created by repurposing scrabble tiles and others are created using recycled copper and patina-ed brass.

This bracelet is created using Turquoise and Lapis Lazuli. Turquoise is the Master Healer and attracts good fortune and helps enhance creative energy. The lapis lazuli expands awareness and encourages a state of serenity.

This necklace helps attract good fortune and enhance creative energy and also helps encourage optimism and personal power.

Using a repurposed scrabble tile, I created a necklace that will disperse negativity and promote peace and protection.

If you could use some balance in your life, please let me create something beautiful and healing for you!


TGR101 said...

Nice work Carrie. Congrats on the wholesale order!!

sfauthor said...

Nice posting. Do you know about these chakra books?

barbarakosciewicz said...

LOVE the chakra pieces! I really love the turquise 'dream' bracelet. Congrats on the order at Kimberton!